We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

An open letter to Speaker Michael Martin

May 18, 2009 10:00 PM

Houses of Parliament Westminster in LondonAndrew Simpson has supported a letter from Lib Dem Parliamentary Candidates to the Speaker concerning the current debacle over MP's expenses and the behaviour of the Speaker

Dear Mr Speaker,

As Parliament continues to be dragged down by the allowance system, and its rules, the role of those in public service across the country is being undermined.

We are Liberal Democrat candidates seeking to be elected to Parliament and yet we find ourselves disappointed, and frustrated, at the way in which this matter is being handled. Every day our residents are telling us loudly that this must stop and this must stop now. Three things stand out:

• The resistance to the releasing of these documents and the attempt to exclude Parliament from the Freedom of Information requirements

• The way in which Norman Baker and Kate Hoey were treated when they sought to raise legitimate concerns

• The fact that, through you, parliament could now release the information into the public domain and cut short this parade of drip-fed news and empower MPs and citizens through a new transparent relationship.

It is vital that Parliament must become transparent and accountable now. We call on you, as Speaker of the House, to do everything within your power to force the full publication of all expenses immediately. We also call on you to accept the independent review of MPs expenses and salaries chaired by Sir Christopher Kelly.

If you are unable to do this we then ask you to consider your position. Time is running out for politicians of all parties to repair the damage to our democracy.

Yours sincerely

57 Liberal Democrat parliamentary candidates

Ed Fordham, Hampstead and Kilburn

Sal Brinton, Watford

Andrew Simpson, Northampton North

Bridget Fox, Islington South & Finsbury

Duncan Borrowman, Old Bexley and Sidcup

Steve Goddard, Oxford East

Adrian Collett, Aldershot

Adam Carew, East Hampshire

Gareth Epps, Reading East

Sally Morgan, Central Devon

Sue Doughty, Guildford

Rebecca Hunt. Chatham & Aylesford

Sarah Carr, Hereford and South Herefordshire

Guy Voizey Canterbury and Whitstable

Jo Shaw, Holborn and St Pancras

Liz Leffman, Meon Vallley

Merlene Emerson, Hammersmith

Sandy Walkington, St Albans

Richard Burt, West Worcestershire

Caroline Pigeon, Vauxhall

Kevin Lang, Edinburgh North & Leith

Andrew Dakers, Brentford and Isleworth

Andrew Duffield,Hexham

David Kendall, Brentwood and Ongar

Ann Haigh, Epping Forest

Simon Wright, Norwich South

Liz Simpson, Tonbridge and Malling

Sam Webber, Bromley and Chislehurst

Rabi Martins - Luton North

Greg Stone, Newcastle East

Theo Butt-Philip, Bridgwater and West Somerset

Dave Radcliffe, Birmingham Selly Oak

Richard Clein, Sefton Central

Mike Cox, Uxbridge and South Ruislip

Andy Stamp, Gillingham & Rainham

Stephen Lloyd, Eastbourne & Willingdon

Mark Blackburn, Westminster North

Denis Healy, Hull North

Robin Lawrence, Wolverhampton South West

Alex Feakes, Lewisham and West Penge

Andrew Falconer, Brighton Pavilion

Dave McBride, Orpington

Nigel Quinton, Hitchin & Harpenden

Alan Beddow, Warwick and Leamington

David Goodall, Southampton Itchen

Ryk Downes, Leeds Central

Chris Took, Ashford

Peter Wilcock, Saffron Walden

Karen Hamilton, Birmingham Perry Barr

Qurban Hussain, Luton South

Keith Angus, Hackney North and Stoke Newington

Stephen Robinson, Chelmsford

Mike Bell, Weston-super-Mare

Dave Raval, Hackney South and Shoreditch

Fred Mackintosh, Edinburgh South

Munira Wilson, Feltham and Heston

Paul Zukowskyj, Welwyn Hatfield

Stephen Gilbert, St Austell and Newquay